Georgia Student Finance Commission


College Decision Guide


A standardized test taken primarily during your sophomore and junior years of high school, but it can be taken by younger students. 

What are the differences between the different versions of the PSAT?

The PSAT is made up of three test:

  • PSAT 8/9 – This version is geared for 8th and 9th.
  • PSAT 10 – This version is for 10th graders and not taken in consideration for the National Merit Scholarship Program. This test is given in the spring.
  • PSAT/NMSQT – This version is for 10th and 11th graders and is used for National Merit Scholarship Program. This test is given in the fall.

Do you need to take the PSAT/NMSQT?

It's not necessary but you'll have a better understanding of the SAT and is good practice. Scoring well on this test can also qualify you for a National Merit Scholarship and look good on your college applications.

How do I sign up to take the PSAT?

Registration for the test is done through your high school, so speak with your guidance counselor.

How can I prepare for taking the PSAT?

There are numerous websites to help you prepare for the PSAT, including sample questions on College Board. You are encouraged to take a full paper practice test (answer sheet) so you can anticipate the test day experience. After completing the test, feel free to score your test so you know how you did.

Virtual Advisor